Anyone who conducts business in the City of Cleveland must first obtain a business (privilege) license, except for those businesses that are specifically exempted by state or federal statute. Business license fees must be paid before the business opens and shall be renewed as long as the business is in operation.
In most cases, a current occupancy inspection is required from the Department of Community Development before a business license can be issued. Please contact Community Development at 662-843-4601 to see if an inspection is necessary.
The City of Cleveland has established a local ordinance pertaining to mobile food vendors. Currently, the only type of mobile food vending equipment that is allowed in Cleveland is a motorized mobile food truck or mobile pushcart as outlined in the City of Cleveland Food Truck Ordinance.
In addition to completing a mobile food vending permit application, vendors must also provide the following:
- A privilege license from the City of Cleveland.
- A food vending permit from the Mississippi State Department of Health.
- A scaled sketch plan or photographs showing the proposed mobile food truck or pushcart, its dimensions, and other details showing the proposed setup such as a site plan where the equipment will be located.
- A list of products to be sold.
- Proof of valid insurance policy that provides minimum liability coverage of $500,000 per mobile food truck and $250,000 per mobile pushcart, with the city named as an additional insured.
- Approved inspection by the Cleveland Fire Inspector.
This is a mandatory tax for the privilege of doing business within the City of Cleveland as outlined in Mississippi State Statute 27-17-5 (2). A privilege license is for all for profit businesses who will operate for a period of six (6) months or longer. The application for a privilege license can be accessed below and must indicate the exact type of business being conducted. All privilege licenses expire on September 30th of each year and must be renewed prior to that date.
Restaurants wanting to serve alcohol for on-premises consumption must seek approval from the Police Department, the Planning Commission, and the Board of Aldermen before obtaining permission to do so. These applicants will need to complete an agenda request application for the Planning Commission from the Department of Community Development. Food service facilities are also required to submit a valid certificate of health from the Mississippi State Department of Health as part of their application.
This type of business license is designed for those who will operate for a period of fewer than six months and is primarily transient in nature. The application for a transient vendor license can be downloaded and must indicate the exact type of business being conducted.
Once completed, businesses should return the application to the Water Department at City Hall along with the appropriate fee for such a license. A Transient Vendor license is valid for 90 days for a fee of $250 and may be renewed one time for an additional 90 days for a $25 renewal fee.
The Department of Community Development and the City Clerk must approve the application before the business is allowed to operate.